Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Chick Lit Author Michele Gorman Has a YA Alter-Ego

Known for her best-selling chick lit (the Single in the City series and Bella Summer Takes a Chance), Michele also writes coming-of-age fiction under the name Jamie Scott and today sees the re-launch of her first novel, Little Sacrifices

This atmospheric, evocative depiction of the American South may just be the perfect summer read for fans of The Secret Life of Bees or To Kill A Mockingbird.

(And who doesn't just love those two books?) 

About the book

How much would you risk to stand up for your beliefs?

When the Powell family moves to Savannah Georgia in the late 1940s, they hope against hope that they'll be welcomed. But they're Northerners and worse, they're civil rights advocates almost a decade too early. The American South is deeply segregated.

At first their daughter, May, can pretend they're the same as everyone else. It means keeping quiet when she knows she should speak up, but it's worth the sacrifice to win friends. Unfortunately her parents are soon putting their beliefs into action. And when they wake to find that they're the only family on the block with a Ku Klux Klan cross blazing on their front lawn, the time comes for them to finally decide between what's easy and what's right.

I had the pleasure of reading this wonderful, beautiful novel. Come back on Thursday to read my thoughts. Short version ~ I loved it! 

About the author

Michele Gorman is the best-selling author of Single in the City, Misfortune Cookie and The Twelve Days to Christmas.

She also writes commercial fiction (historical, young adult) under the pen name Jamie Scott. Born and raised in the US, Michele has lived in London for 15 years.

And if you'd like her to sign a book for yourself or as a gift, just pop a request through on www.authorgraph.com for eBooks, or through www.michelegorman.co.uk for paperbacks.

Connect with Michele

Follow The Book Bag on bloglovin'
or by email (option on the sidebar)

Be sure to check the sidebar for my current giveaways!


Post a Comment

Thanks SO much for leaving me a comment! Every single one means a whole lot to me!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...