Thursday, July 11, 2013

Little Sacrifices by Michele Gorman

How much would you risk to stand up for your beliefs?

When Duncan and Sarah Powell move with their daughter, May, to Savannah Georgia in 1947, they hope against hope that they’ll be welcomed. But they’re Yankees and worse, they’re civil rights advocates almost a decade too early.

At first May can pretend they’re the same as everyone else. It means keeping quiet when she knows she should speak up, but it’s worth the sacrifice to win friends. Unfortunately her parents are soon putting their beliefs into action. And when they wake to find that they’re the only family on the block with a Ku Klux Klan cross blazing on their front lawn, the time comes for them to finally decide between what’s easy and what’s right.

Jamie Scott can inscribe this book through for you or a friend if you’d like to give it as a gift. It has also been lending-enabled, so please do consider passing it on to a friend. ~~ synopsis from Goodreads

This atmospheric, evocative depiction of the American South may just be the perfect summer read for fans of The Secret Life of Bees or To Kill A Mockingbird.

My thoughts about Little Sacrifices ~~

I started reading Little Sacrifices after reading an intense, YA paranormal novel. I do have to say that I rather enjoyed the relaxing, slower pace that this story had to offer me at this time. The setting of the book takes place in the South, Savannah, Georgia in 1947, and as I imagine the South being, people and events move a lot slower. I was ready for that change of pace.

As noted above, this story is a perfect fit for anyone loving The Secret Lives of Bees (loved it!) or To Kill a Mockingbird (another one to love!). I very much got that type of feeling while reading this book. Little Sacrifices has wonderful character development and is very well written. I really felt like I was there experiencing it all.

May is a spunky young lady who has been taught to do the right thing so when things don't seem 'right' to her in the South, she has a hard time being quiet. She learned this behavior from her father, so the two of them set out to try to 'fix' the South. But not without a cost, to them and those around them.

I loved the side story that we get to enjoy along with the main story of May and her parents adjusting to life in the South. May finds a journal of a women who lived in their house in the early 1900's. That woman's story gives us, the reader, an additional taste of life before our time and reminds us of how everything in connected.

I really did enjoy Little Sacrifices, a lot, and hope that Michele has more great stories to share with us. I know I will be waiting to read them!

About the author

Michele Gorman was born and raised in the US, but lost her heart to London nearly 15 years ago and is now a card-carrying Brit. Michele writes both chick lit (Single in the City, Misfortune Cookie, The Twelve Days to Christmas). She also writes upmarket commercial fiction under the pen name Jamie Scott.

Since procrastination is an essential element in writing, Michele spends way too much time on twitter and facebook and would be thrilled for readers to join her there. So follow @expatdiaries on twitter, send a friend request on Facebook or visit her website or blog (

And if you'd like her to sign an eBook for yourself or as a gift, just pop a request through on Better yet, send a friend request!

Connect with Michele

Follow The Book Bag on bloglovin'
or by email (option on the sidebar)

Be sure to check the sidebar for my current giveaways!


  1. Well, susan this looks interesting
    Although not my type
    I don't know whether I should read it ro not
    Your reader,

  2. Sounds like a worthwhile read, plus I like the setting and time period. Nice review!


Thanks SO much for leaving me a comment! Every single one means a whole lot to me!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...