Saturday, June 27, 2015

Book Spotlight Giveaway! Things You Won't Say by Sarah Pekkanen

I have sooooo many books! I have a ton of print books and probably even more e-books. The Book Spotlight feature that I post every Saturday is a way for me to clear my shelves and to share some of the books I have. There are a lot of different reasons that I might be letting some of my books go, the biggest one is that when we moved I discovered how many books I really do have. This feature is a way for my to cull my collection and to give someone else the opportunity to enjoy them.

The book that I am featuring this week is an ARC that I received and reviewed. My thoughts are here. This was the first one of Sarah's books that I have read and I am definitely going to be reading more. It's time to pass this one on to someone else.   

Good luck and be sure to stop back next week!

Things You Won't Say

Things You Won't Say by Sarah Pekkanen 
Paperback, 352 pages
Published: May 26th 2015 by Washington Square Press 

In this timely and provocative novel, internationally bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen takes us inside a family in crisis and a marriage on the brink after a tragic shooting.

How far would you go to save your family?

Every morning, as her husband Mike straps on his SIG Sauer and pulls on his heavy Magnum boots, Jamie Anderson tenses up. Then comes the call she has always dreaded: There's been a shooting at police headquarters. Mike isn't hurt, but his long-time partner is grievously injured. As weeks pass and her husband's insomnia and disconnectedness mount, Jamie realizes he is an invisible casualty of the attack. Then the phone rings again. Another shooting but this time Mike has pulled the trigger.

But the shooting does more than just alter Jamie's world. It's about to change everything for two other women. Christie Simmons, Mike's flamboyant ex, sees the tragedy as an opportunity for a second chance with Mike. And Jamie's younger sister, Lou, must face her own losses to help the big sister who raised her. As the press descends and public cries of police brutality swell, Jamie tries desperately to hold together her family, no matter what it takes.

In her characteristic exploration of true-to-life relationships, Sarah Pekkanen has written a complex, compelling, and openhearted novel her best yet. 

About the author

"Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin will strongly appreciate this rising star in women's fiction." - Library Journal.

Internationally bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen's newest book is Things You Won't Say (May 2015, Atria/Simon & Schuster). She is also the author of Catching AirThe Best of UsThe Opposite of MeSkipping a Beat, and These Girls. Sarah's linked free short estories, published by Simon & Schuster exclusively for ereaders, are titled "All is Bright," and "Love, Accidentally." The third story in the series is just 99 cents and is titled "Beginning Again." 

Sarah is the mother of three young boys, which explains why she writes part of her novels at Chuck E. Cheese. 

Sarah penned her first book, Miscellaneous Tales and Poems, at the age of 10. When publishers failed to jump upon this literary masterpiece (hey, all the poems rhymed!) Sarah followed up by sending them a sternly-worded letter on Raggedy Ann stationery. Sarah still has that letter, and carries it to New York every time she has meetings with her publisher, as a reminder that dreams do come true. At least some dreams - Brad Pitt has yet to show up on her doorstep wearing nothing but a toolbelt and asking if she needs anything fixed. So maybe it's only G-rated dreams that come true. 

Connect with Sarah

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Be sure to check the sidebar for my current giveaways!


  1. I've read Skipping a Beat & Catching Air. I liked both, but if I had to pick one to recommend, I'd say Catching Air.

  2. I have not read any of hers yet.
    I thought I had but I guess I have just looked at them so much it feels like I did! LOL

  3. These Girls was captivating and special. Thanks for this lovely feature and giveaway. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. I haven't read anything by her yet, but I would love to read this one! :)

  5. I've read Catching Air, and I loved it! You definitely have to read it!

    Carolina M on rafflecopter

  6. I read Catching Air and enjoyed it very much. I'm looking forward to reading Things You Won't Say.

  7. I have read Catching Air, and I must say that Sarah is a very pretty lady.

  8. This is a new author for me. I really want to read this book. It's on my TBR list of books. Keeping my fingers crossed!

  9. No, I have not read any of Sarah's books yet, but this one sounds like a book I would really enjoy.

  10. I haven't read any of Sarah's books yet, but this one is on my list to read. Thank you for blogging about it.

  11. I haven't read any yet, but look forward to it!

  12. I've been reading raves about allSarah's books they are high on my list,

  13. I haven't read any of her books yet.

  14. I really liked Skipping a Beat.

  15. Thank you, Susan! I'm super excited to read and review this book!


Thanks SO much for leaving me a comment! Every single one means a whole lot to me!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...