Thursday, August 13, 2015

On Tour: Her Sister's Shoes by Ashley Farley and a Giveaway! #TLCBookTours #HerSistersShoes

Her Sister's Shoes cover

Her Sister's Shoes

Her Sister's Shoes by Ashley Farley 
Print and e-book: 380 pages
Publisher: Leisure Time Books (June 24, 2015)

Proves the healing power of family . . .

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister’s Shoes is the story of three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband’s infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother’s mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Dot Frank and Mary Alice Monroe, Her Sister’s Shoes is a contemporary women’s novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

  
My thoughts about Her Sister's Shoes ~~ 

I seem to be on a streak right now and have been reading a lot of southern fiction and here is another one that I thoroughly enjoyed. Her Sister's Shoes is about three sisters who live in South Carolina and who are each dealing with their own serious life issues.

As we become acquainted with the sisters, we find out that they are as different as night and day. They all have problems and pressures in their lives but they all feel like they don't want or need to confide in their sisters. They feel that they can handle everything all by themselves. But sometimes, you need the love and support of your sisters.  
'I don't know what your situation is, buddy, but never give up on your dreams no matter how many bumps in the road you encounter. Trust what you feel in your heart and everything else will work out.'
Like I said, the sisters are very different. I found myself relating most closely to Sam, the middle sister. She is the one who tries to keep the family together and feels the need to take care of everyone. But ultimately, she forgets to take care of herself.
'She could not afford to fall apart. Not when so many people relied on her. Sure, she was overwhelmed having to cope with so many different crises at once, but she was tough. She could handle it. She would deal with her problems one at a time.'
Jackie, the oldest of the sisters, is going through her own personal problems but feels that she has to keep up the impression that everything is wonderful in her world. Faith, the youngest sister, is in an abusive situation and doesn't know how to get out. Inadvertently, she drags those she loves into her dangerous world.

I loved the references to shoes that are sprinkled throughout the book—being in her sister's shoes, if the shoe fits.... , and walking a mile in my shoes. This story reminds us that we can't begin to guess what other people are going through because we are not 'in their shoes'. We need to be caring and understanding towards those we love; they need us even if they don't think they do.

I loved reading Her Sister's Shoes and loved getting to know the sisters. Not only did I love the women, their relationships, and the southern location, I loved Ashley's writing. She writes beautifully and I found myself totally engrossed in the story. She is an author I will be watching because I want to read more!

About the author

Ashley Farley

Ashley Farley is a book blogger at Chronicles and author of Saving Ben and Her Sister's Shoes. She is a community volunteer in Richmond, Virginia, where she lives with her husband and two college-aged children.

Connect with Ashley



Thanks go out to TLC Book Tours and Ashley Farley for offering a copy of Her Sister's Shoes for the giveaway. Visit other stops on the tour here for more chances to win! 




Be sure to check the sidebar for my current giveaways! 


15 comments:

  1. Sounds like a must read to me.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Really looks like a good read!! I like the cover also. It really goes with the title.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I will read this. I live and grew up in the Lowcountry. These are my favorite stories to read.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This book would be captivating and a treasure. Thanks for this great giveaway. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  5. It sounds like a wonderful book, and I just love the setting. Thanks for having the giveaway.

    ayancey1974(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've been waiting to read your review. Now that I have I know I will enjoy this book , too. And that cover really draws me in!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thank you so much for your lovely review and for hosting a tour stop for Her Sister's Shoes. Writing about the three sisters in the Lowcountry was great fun for me. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for stopping by Ashley! Looks like there is a lot of interest in your book. I have a question for you. The cover changed. Why did that happen? Personally, I think I like the other cover better but that's just me. I love the story no matter what cover it has on it, I was just wondering how that came about.

      Delete
  8. Sounds like a good book! Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

    ReplyDelete
  9. So many people are talking about how they got lost in this story - that's such a great thing!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sounds very intriguing. Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I picked up the copy of this book a few days ago when it was on sale for $.99 and I read it in a day! Thanks, Susan, for another great recommendation!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I picked this book up on sale this week and read it in a day! Great book and loved the characters and story! Thanks for another great recommendation, Susan.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks SO much for leaving me a comment! Every single one means a whole lot to me!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...