Saturday, August 21, 2021

This OR That #Giveaway Week 25 ~ Broken Pieces by Kathleen Long OR Inheriting Edith by Zoe Fishman #BrokenPieces #InheritingEdith

 

I have sooooo many books! 

The This or That Giveaway! feature that I post every Saturday is a way for me to clear my shelves and to share some of the many books I have. It's a way for me to cull my collection and give someone else the chance to enjoy these treasures.

Good luck and be sure to stop back next week!

*****************

Both books today are ones that I read and reviewed when they came out in 2016. I loved them both, that's why I've held on to them so long, but I need to clear out my books so I'm passing them on for one of you to enjoy. 

Broken Pieces
by Kathleen Long
Paperback ~ Pub date July 2016

Destiny Jones is doing just fine on her own, thanks. From her thriving one-woman carpentry business to the loving support of her small-town community, Destiny has constructed a life as sturdy and polished as her best cabinets. Twenty years ago, Destiny’s world collapsed when her mother died and her father, Albert, abandoned his daughter to pursue acting in New York. His devastating exit taught Destiny a lesson in self-reliance that has kept her safe—and alone—ever since.

Now Albert Jones is back, begging for a second chance. Destiny suspects he’s simply staging another performance, starring himself as the prodigal father. Should she act on her misgivings? Or listen to her inner child, who still yearns for a family? When Albert divulges a shocking secret, Destiny’s life will again be turned upside down.

Kathleen Long’s warm, wise novel reveals the armor that has protected us in the past is often the very thing we must shed to fully live and love. 


*****************

Inheriting Edith
by Zoe Fishman
Paperback ~ Pub date October 2016

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased’s eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer’s—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza’s gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.


*****************



*****************

Be sure to check the sidebar for all of my current giveaways!


14 comments:

  1. I do reviews-here on the blog, Amazon, Goodreads, etc. I also enjoy just reading for my own fun, books that I don't have to review, off my TBR list-basically taking a break from reviewing.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I review on Goodreads and Amazon mostly, and give extra shout outs to favorites on Twitter.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I review ARCs that are given to me by the authors.

    Nancy
    allibrary (at) aol (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  4. I do review some of the books I read on Goodreads.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I used to review the books I read on Goodreads, but eventually I found it hindered my enjoyment of the books in favor of really critiquing as a I read. So now I don't. I just enjoy.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I read many books for my own entertainment and then share them all with friends who review them.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I do review some of the books I read on Goodreads.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Goodreads, Amazon, forums & some on my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I review on my blog and Amazon and Goodreads!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I do not review the books that I read.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I do not review any of the books i read.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks SO much for leaving me a comment! Every single one means a whole lot to me!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...