Saturday, January 22, 2022

This or That Giveaway Week 44 ~ The Roots of the Olive Tree by Courtney Miller Santo OR Inheriting Edith by Zoe Fishman #TheRootsOfTheOliveTree #InheritingEdith

 

I have sooooo many books!

The This or That Giveaway! feature that I post every Saturday is a way for me to clear my shelves and to share some of the many books I have. It's a way for me to cull my collection and give someone else the chance to enjoy these treasures.

Good luck and be sure to stop back next week!

*****************

The Roots of the Olive Tree
Courtney Miller Santo
Paperback ~ Pub date August2012

Set in a house on an olive grove in northern California, The Roots of the Olive Tree is a beautiful, touching story that brings to life five generations of women--including an unforgettable 112 year-old matriarch determined to break all Guinness longevity records--the secrets and lies that divide them and the love that ultimately ties them together.

I loved this story!

*****************

Inheriting Edith
by Zoe Fishman
Paperback ~ Pub date October 2016

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased’s eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer’s—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza’s gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.

Another fabulous story!

*****************


a Rafflecopter giveaway

*****************

Be sure to check the sidebar for all of my current giveaways!


17 comments:

  1. My "favorite" book is usually the one I am currently reading! Currently that is Laura Child's The Silver Needle Murder that I have just started reading.

    Nancy
    allibrary (at) aol (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, there is that. The current being the favorite.

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. I've been meaning to read one of her books. I just may have to start with this one.

      Delete
  3. For the Love of Friends by Sara Goodman Confino.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Tin Camp Road by Ellen Airgood.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I loved 'The Nature of Fragile Things' by Susan Meissner along with many others.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A great book. I've got it on audio and now I want to listen to it as well.

      Delete

Thanks SO much for leaving me a comment! Every single one means a whole lot to me!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...